Safe Space Program

The safe space program helps those students of the LGBTQ+ community on the Wilkes campus to identify a supportive faculty/staff member or student group. The visibility of the safe space sticker allows the campus community to identify faculty/staff members and know that they can speak freely with these individuals about LGBTQ+ issues.

Dr. Mark Allen

Associate Vice President for Student Life and Success
Student Affairs

Passan Hall Thir Floor
mark.allen@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4103

Kelly Beishline

Human Resources Manager Operations
Human Resources

10 East South Street Suite A
kelly.beishline@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3356

Carol Bosack Kosek

Director
Career Services

Ctr for Career Dev/ Internship First Floor
carol.bosack@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4063

Anita Burns

Health Services Assistant
Health and Wellness Services

Passan Hall First Floor
anita.burns@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4730

Cory Burrell

Associate Director Web Services
Marketing Communications

Weckesser Hall Room #303
cory.burrell@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-7892

Dr. Chelsea Chamberlain

Assistant Professor
Global Cultures

Breiseth Hall Room 109
chelsea.chamberlain@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5470

Justin Collins

Director of Admissions and Student Affairs
Nesbitt School of Pharmacy

Stark Learning Center 117D
justin.collins@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4122

Ashleigh Crispell

Assistant Director Creative
Marketing Communications

Weckesser Hall Room 314
ashleigh.crispell@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3825

Dr. Helen Davis

Associate Professor
English

Kirby Hall 308
helen.davis@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4548

Jacki Eovitch

Associate Director of Communications Admissions and Special Projects
Marketing Communications

Weckesser Hall 308
jacqueline.eovitch@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4135

Robert Eskra

Esports Manager
Integrative Media

Breiseth Hall Room 011
robert.eskra@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-7703

Dr. Evene Estwick

Associate Professor/Chair
Communication Studies

141 South Main 106
evene.estwick@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4161

Dr. Jon Ference

Dean
Nesbitt School of Pharmacy

Stark Learning Center 117
jonathan.ference@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4271

Dr. Matt Finkenbinder

Associate Professor
Earth Systems Science

Cohen Science Center 424
matthew.finkenbinder@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3871

Melissa Gaudio

Licensed Professional Counselor
正澳门六合彩开奖直播 Counseling Center

Passan Hall Second Floor Room 204
melissa.gaudio@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4358

Lauren Gentilesco

Conservatory Coordinator
Music Conservatory

Dorothy Dickson Darte Center room 110
lauren.gentilesco@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4426

Mohsen Ghamari

Associate Professor
Mechanical and Electrical Engineering

Stark Learning Center 366
mohsen.ghamari@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3319

Dr. Anu Ghai

Assistant Professor of Accounting
Sidhu School of Business

Simms Center on Main 223 D
anu.ghai@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5507

Dr. Jamal Ghorieshi

Professor
Mechanical and Electrical Engineering

Stark Learning Center 156
jamal.ghorieshi@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4889

Dr. Thomas Hamill

Associate Professor and Chair
English

Kirby Hall 303
thomas.hamill@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4539

Dr. Joshua Harper

Assistant Professor of Music Choral
Performing Arts

Dorothy Dickson Darte Center Room 305
joshua.harper@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4434

Dr. Todd Hastings

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Nursing

Stark Learning Center SLC N218
todd.hastings@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4090

Julia Jacien

Experiential Program Coordinator
Pharmacy Practice

Stark Learning Center 336
julia.jacien@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4290

Dr. Saritha Karnae

Assistant Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering

Stark Learning Center Room 154
saritha.karnae@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5566

Juli Killian

Coordinator
Health and Wellness Services

Passan Hall
juli.killian@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4733

Annet Kaminski

Administrative Assistant
Sidhu School of Business

Simms Center on Main Room 216G
annet.kaminski@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4725

Elizabeth Leo

University Counsel and Title IX Coordinator
Presidents Office

Weckesser Hall 204
elizabeth.leo@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-7788

Dr. Ming Lew

Associate Professor
Math Physics and Computer Science

Stark Learning Center 418
veeming.lew@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4844

Shawn Loyack

Senior Associate Director
Undergraduate Admissions

Chase Hall 105
shawn.loyack@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4722

Dr. Del Lucent

Associate Professor
Math Physics and Computer Science

Stark Learning Center 441c
del.lucent@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4834

Lt Col Josh Lyons

Commander ROTC Det 752
AFROTC

Hollenback Hall 302A
joshua.lyons@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4903

Dr. Blake Mackesy

Associate Provost for Academic Innovation
EDD Education Doctorate

Weckesser Hall 208
blake.mackesy@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4157

Jen Malinowski

Assoc Dean, Academic Affairs
Nesbitt School of Pharmacy

jennifer.malinowski@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3294

Jen McLaughlin

Assistant Director
Honors Program

Stark Learning Center SLC 262
jennifer.mclaughlin1@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-7831

Dr. Mary McManus

Associate Professor
Pharmaceutical Sciences

Stark Learning Center 319E
mary.mcmanus@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4273

Jared Menghini

Vice President of Enrollment Management
Undergraduate Admissions

Chase Hall 220
jared.menghini@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5627

Dr. Ellen Newell

Associate Professor
Psychology

Breiseth Hall 304
ellen.newell@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4568

Diane O'Brien

Director
Health and Wellness Services

Passan Hall First Floor First Floor
diane.obrien@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4734

Julia Panzitta

Associate Director
Institutional Research

10 East South Street Suite B
julia.panzitta@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3828

Amy Patton

Associate Director
Undergraduate Admissions

Stark Learning Center 354A
amy.patton@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4407

Dr. Linda Paul

Assoc. Professor Philosophy
Global Cultures

Breiseth Hall 110A
linda.paul@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4243

Megan Pitts

Director University Events and Engagement
Marketing Communications

Henry Student Center 202
megan.pitts@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4410

Kristina Powers Pharm.D

Director Experiential Programs
Pharmacy Practice

Stark Learning Center 336 Pharmacy Practice Office
kristina.powers@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3293

Jill Price

Adventure Ed Coordinator
Student Development

Henry Student Center
jill.price@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4036

Jeanne Rabel

Senior Advising Coordinator
Advising Services

Conygham Hall 203
jeanne.rabel@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5884

Cody Raspen

Web Services Specialist
Marketing Communications

Weckesser Hall Room 303
cody.raspen@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4929

Maria Richards PsyD.

Director/Psychologist
正澳门六合彩开奖直播 Counseling Center

Passan Hall Room 212
maria.richards@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-6210

Andrea Rizzo

Office Assistant
Social Science

Breiseth Hall Rm 327
andrea.rizzo@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4040

Roberta Shaffer

Residence Life Assistant
Residence Life

Max Roth Hall 2nd Floor
roberta.shaffer@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4350

LynnMarie Shedlock

Human Resources Manager Employee Relations and Development
Human Resources

10 East South Street Suite A
lynnmarie.shedlock@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-2034

Teri Shovlin

Assistant to the Dean
Sidhu School of Business

Simms Center on Main Room 216E
teresita.shovlin@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4719

Kelly Siegfried

Assoc Director Systems and Data
Enrollment Operations

Capin Hall 305
kelly.siegfried@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-5125

Heather Sincavage

Associate Professor/Director Sordoni Art Gallery
Integrative Media

Karambelas Media and Comm Ctr 139A
heather.sincavage@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3365

Maryellen Sloat

Office Assistant
Performing Arts

Dorothy Dickson Darte Center 125
maryellen.sloat@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4420

Dr. Chad Stanley

Associate Professor
English

Kirby Hall 209
chad.stanley@wilkes.edu
(570) 991-1279

Michelle Strickland

Executive Assistant for Academic Operations
Provost Office

Weckesser Hall 207
michelle.strickland@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4116

Dr. Jennifer Thomas

Associate Professor
Psychology

Breiseth Hall Breiseth Hall 306
jennifer.thomas@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4567

Jason Wagner

Courseware App Developer
Technology for Teaching and Learning

Conyngham Hall 309
jason.wagner1@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3859

Dr. David Ward

Senior Vice President/Provost
Provost Office

Weckesser Hall 205
david.ward@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-3882

Dr. Faith Wellings

Assistant Professor
Pharmacy Practice

Stark Learning Center 325
faith.wellings@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4292

Dr. Andy Wilczak

Associate Professor and Associate Dean, of Arts and Sciences
Sociology / Criminology

Breiseth Hall Breiseth Hall 325
andrew.wilczak@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4041

Dr. Linda Winkler

Professor Anthropology
Global Cultures

Breiseth Hall Room 112
linda.winkler@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4605

Gretchen Yeninas

Dean, for Student Life
Student Affairs

Passan Hall 314
gretchen.yeninas@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4107

Dr. Chris Zarpentine

Assoc. Prof. Philosophy/Chair
Global Cultures

Breiseth Hall Room 110B
christoph.zarpentine@wilkes.edu
(570) 408-4597

The program is completely voluntary. The reason why we are offering these sessions is because we want to educate ourselves about LGBTQ+ issues and concerns and how they relate to colleges and universities. There will be two ways this program will be offered: Safe Space Ally Training and LGBTQ+ awareness training. The sessions are offered to faculty/staff and students.

What is the Safe Space Program?

Surveys indicates that a majority of LGBTQ+ students do not feel safe at school out of fear for personal safety. Students who can identify a supportive faculty/staff member or student group are more likely to feel a sense of belonging at their school than those who cannot. For many students, the presence of allies to whom they can turn for support - or even the simple knowledge that allies exist - can be a big factor in developing to improve school climate. Safe Space programs increase the visible presence of students and adults allies who can help to shape a school culture that is accepting of all people, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity / expression, or any other difference.

In the Safe Space Ally training session, we will provide participants with the tools to take action against negative attitudes towards the LGBTQ+ community on and off campus. 鈥淚n the most general sense, an 鈥淎lly鈥 鈥渋s鈥 a person who is a member of the dominant or majority group who works to end oppression in his or her personal and professional life through support of, and as an advocate for, the oppressed population.鈥(Washington and Evans, Becoming an Ally) Participants in the Ally training will receive a Safe Space sign and / or button to display and may choose to be listed in our online Ally registry.

LGBTQ+ awareness training introduces participants to terminology that is used in the LGBTQ+ community and includes discussions of different scenarios. The Ally program will also be introduced so that those who attend the Safe Space training will know about the Ally program and can sign up for Ally training if interested.

Safe Space Mission

  • To foster an inclusive environment for LGBTQ+ students, and their allies.
  • To provides educational opportunities, advocacy, and programming for students, faculty, and staff on the 正澳门六合彩开奖直播 campus.
  • To aspire that Safe Space will help develop and support inclusive understanding of gender and sexuality, as well as foster a community that is open, safe, and supportive.

What Can You Do As An Ally

Get Involved!

  • Display your Safe Space Sticker! The sticker indicates that, within your office or room, homophobic and heterosexist comments and actions will not be tolerated silently, but instead will be addressed in an educational and nonthreatening manner. The sticker does not indicate whether or not you are LGBTQA; it merely states that you are an Ally.
  • Support policies that bring equity to and give open support to LGBTQA issues.
  • Encourage others to become a part of Safe Space.
  • Attend Safe Space training to further increase your knowledge and awareness.
  • Pay attention to the words people use to describe themselves. Not everyone identifies as 鈥済ay鈥, 鈥渓esbian鈥, 鈥渉omosexual,鈥 etc.
  • Do not assume that a gay, lesbian, or bisexual person is attracted to you just because they have disclosed their sexual identity.
  • Respect the desire for secrecy of a person you know to be gay, lesbian or bisexual. Do not 鈥渙ut鈥 someone.
  • Speak out against statements and jokes that attack LGBTQA people. Letting others know that you find anti-LGBTQA statements and jokes offensive and unacceptable can go a long away towards reducing homophobia.

Resources

Campus Resources

Community Resources

National Resources

  • Sexual Orientation: The desire for intimate emotional and sexual relationships with people of the same sex (homosexual), the other sex (heterosexual), or both sexes (bisexual).
  • Gender Identity: A person鈥檚 sense of being male or female.
  • Gay: The adjective used to describe people who are physically romantically, and/or emotionally attracted to people of the same sex.
  • Lesbian: A woman whose enduring physical, romantic, emotional and/or spiritual attraction is to other women.
  • Bisexual: An individual who is physically, romantically, emotionally and/or spiritually attracted to men and women.
  • Transgender: An umbrella term for people whose gender identity and/or gender expression differs from sex they were assigned at birth.
  • Transsexual: A person who has changed, or is in the process of changing, his or her physical sex to conform to his or her internal sense of gender identity.
  • Heterosexism: The assumption that everyone is heterosexual, and that heterosexuality is superior to homosexuality or bisexuality.
  • Questioning: A term or period where an individual re-assesses (however privately or openly) the orientation/identity that they have either asserted for themselves, or been brought up as.
  • Intersex: Describing a person whose biological sex is ambiguous.
  • LGBTQA: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Ally.